Katharina Lepik

Gelsomina

“Rhetorical fire screens. The beaujour of ugly girls. New miracles of Pistoja’s Palace. News of Circe the famous enchantress, who is binding bows and of the well behaved Snake Herb which grows in blooming Arcadia. Azure and Rose.”*

* E.T.A Hoffman, Princess Brambilla

Within this photographic work I create a surreal parallel world of fragments of urban space.
I have been fascinated by strange and unreal places for a while.
As most modern cities are very dense and as they are designed to be functional, such spaces are difficult to find. However, on my search for gaps in the usefulness of modern cities I discovered plenty of strange and surprising scenes in suburbs and industrial zones as well as backstage at theaters, circuses and behind the scenes, in theme parks and urban farms.
Together these places create a fragmented narrative: my personal fantasy of the city. Finally I myself appear as a protagonist on this urban stage.

Sisterness

Personality is constituted by a series of identifications. The first and most important people we identify with are our parents. Later on, in our adolescence, we distance ourselves from them. We begin to cherish our individuality. While at the same time looking for other people, friends, partners or other adults, to help us form ideas of ourselves. We search for similarities and create bonds, starting to assimilate with others by for example wearing similar clothes, or by sharing certain values and behavior. By taking portraits of myself, together with other people such as family members, friends and people I barely know, I work on a personal approach towards visualizing the process of identification. Similarity is created by very simple means, such as wearing the same clothes and adopting a similar expression.

I am fascinated by the result, depicting two individual people merged into one virtual character. Sisterness (German: Verschwisterung) is a metaphor for this state. Likewise, I am interested in the process of assimilating myself to the other completely. During the portrait session, familiarity evolves between the models and myself. Conversely, the individuality of each one becomes evident when we face the camera, despite our physical resemblance. With my portraits I would like to explore this contrast between closeness and distance, between insisting on our individuality and our longing for a symbiosis with someone like us.

I designed Sisterness to be a long-term project. I am currently looking for new models.

White

Family of Choice

I’d like to introduce my work with one of my model’s thoughts:

“I see some similarity.
The woman is a stranger to me yet I recognize myself within her.
That makes me smile. In my head, I start to travel in a strange city, recognizing here and there some of my friends in passers by. This journey is what interests me about the project.
Across rigid constructions of ethnicity, sex, class, sexuality, family, or origin.
The power of this project lies in its elicitation of an emancipatory gaze upon convention – in the way family norms and concepts of self are visually deconstructed.
The project plays with the construction of a communal identity, a ‘we’ of two people who don’t know each other, creating a new space for possible relationships (…)”

While meeting new people one frequently has to think of friends or other people one already knows. Strangers seem to be familiar at first sight. A sort of Déjà-vu.

I wanted to capture these ephemeral appearances by bringing together what exists separately from each other. By taking portraits of the people who remind me of each other, I create a net of fragile/delicate connections between the people I meet. Most of the Doppelgangers don’t know each other and so consequently I am the only connection. I’ve focused on these bonds for a long time, asking questions such as what do friends or brothers and sisters have in common? How does this commonness manifest itself visually? How can photography visualize relationships or even construct fictional kinship? My work Sisterness has already dealt with these questions. Familily of Choice is another possible answer.

After the summer’s yield

CV

Born 1981 in Augsburg, Germany, Katharina Lepik currently lives and works in Hamburg.

Education

  • 02/2015 Master of Arts in photography
  • 2011 – 2015 M.A student (photography),class of Prof. Ute Mahler, HAW Hamburg, Germany
  • 2010 Bachelor Degree Photodesign, University of Applied Sciences, Munich, Germany

Gallery

A selection of photographs is available to purchase as limited edition prints at Galerie Hengevoss-Dürkop:
http://hengevossduerkop.de/galerie/?p=1171

Exhibitions

  • 2015 ImageSingulières, Projections, Sète, France
    Photo Phnom Penh, Kambodscha
  • 2013 Bremer Kunstfrühling, Bremen
  • 2012 PREVIEW, Berlin
    Carte Blanche, Galerie Hengevoss-Dürkop, Hamburg
    Shifted Realities, Frappant, Hamburg
  • 2011 Familiy Value, Michael Mazzeo Gallery, New York
  • 2010 Verschwisterung, Westendstudios, Munich, Germany
  • 2009 Der unbewusste Augenblick, German Museum, Munich
    Heimat auf Zeit, DG Gallery, Munich
    Belichtung und Wahrheit, Freelens meeting, University of Applied Sciences, Munich

Online publications

Imprint

Liability For Content

As a service provider, we are responsible for our own content on these pages according to the general laws according to § 7 Abs.1 TMG. According to §§ 8 to 10 TMG, however, as a service provider, we are not obligated to supervise transmitted or stored third-party information or to investigate circumstances which indicate an illegal activity. Obligations to remove or block the use of information according to general laws remain unaffected. Liability in this regard, however, is only possible from the time of knowledge of a concrete infringement. We will immediately remove these contents if we become aware of any such legal violations.

Liability For Links

Our offer contains links to external websites of third parties on whose content we have no influence. Therefore, we can not assume any liability for these third-party content. The respective provider or operator of the pages is always responsible for the contents of the linked pages. The linked pages were checked for possible legal violations at the time of linking. Illegal contents were not recognizable at the time of linking. However, a permanent control of the content of the linked pages is not reasonable without concrete indications of an infringement. If we become aware of any legal infringements, we will immediately remove such links.

Copyright

The content and works created by the site operators on these pages are subject to German copyright law. The copying, processing, distribution and any kind of exploitation outside the limits of copyright require the written consent of the respective author or the creator. Downloads and copies of this page are only permitted for private, non-commercial use. Insofar as the contents on this site were not created by the operator, the copyrights of third parties are respected. In particular contents of third parties are marked as such. If you are nevertheless aware of a copyright infringement, we ask for a corresponding note. If we become aware of legal violations, we will immediately remove such content.

Data Protection

The operators of these sites take the protection of your personal data very seriously. We treat your personal data confidentially and in accordance with the legal data protection regulations as well as this data protection statement. The use of our website is normally possible without giving personal data. If personal data (eg name, address or e-mail addresses) are collected on our pages, this is always done on a voluntary basis as far as possible. These data will not be passed on to third parties without your express consent. We would like to point out that data transmission on the Internet (for example, when communicating via e-mail) can present security gaps. A complete protection of the data before access by third parties is not possible.

Angaben gemäß § 5 TMG

Katharina Lepik
Agathenstr. 7
20357 Hamburg
+491721073859
JavaScript is required to display this email address.

Alle contents © 2017 Katharina Lepik

Katharina Lepik

Gelsomina

„Rhetorische Ofenschirme. Der beau jour häßlicher Mädchen. Neue Wunder des Palastes Pistoja. Nachrichten von der berühmten Schwarzkünstlerin Circe, welche Bandschleifen nestelt, sowie von dem artigen Schlangenkraut, das im blühenden Arkadien wächst. Himmelblau und Rosa.“*

* E.T.A. Hoffmann, Prinzessin Brambilla

Seltsame und unwirkliche Orte in der Stadt faszinieren mich schon seit langem.
Da viele Großstädte sehr dicht bebaut sind und der öffentliche Raum oft überwiegend funktional gestaltet ist, sind solche Orte selten. Auf meiner Suche nach dem Surrealen, nach Lücken in der reinen Zweckmäßigkeit vieler städtischer Räume, stieß ich dennoch immer wieder auf überraschende und surreale Szenen. Ich fand sie in Vorstädten, in Industriegebieten und Zirkussen, in Vergnügungsparks, auf Stadtbauernhöfen und in Theatern. Aus diesen phantastischen Raumfragmenten entsteht eine Kulisse, die ich mit meinen Selbstinszenierungen bespiele.

Verschwisterung

Bei der Entwicklung unserer Persönlichkeit spielt die Identifikation mit verschiedenen Bezugspersonen eine wichtige Rolle. Als Säuglinge und Kleinkinder identifizieren wir uns mit den Eltern und imitieren ihr Verhalten. In unserer Jugend distanzieren wir uns schließlich von ihnen und legen Wert auf Individualität. Gleichzeitig haben wir doch den Wunsch nach Gemeinsamkeit und beginnen uns an Freunden und Partnern zu orientieren. Mit ihnen teilen wir gemeinsame Werte und passen uns auch in Äußerlichkeiten an. Wir können uns von anderen distanzieren oder uns ihnen anpassen, stets beinhaltet unsere Selbstwahrnehmung den Blick der anderen. So konstituieren wir Zeit unseres Lebens unsere Individualität in Bezug auf andere.

Mit meinen Porträts möchte ich diesen Prozess visualisieren: Ich porträtiere mich selbst mit wechselnden Modellen. Die „anderen“ – das sind Familienangehörige, Freunde und flüchtig Bekannte. Durch gleichartige Kleidung und Frisur sowie durch ähnliche Posen schaffe ich visuelle Ähnlichkeit. Es fasziniert mich, wie mittels dieser Angleichung zwei Individuen zu einem gemeinsamen Charakter verschmelzen zu scheinen, sich „verschwistern“. Neben dem Resultat, dem fertigen Portrait interessiert mich der gesamte Prozess der Verschwisterung.
Das gemeinsame Verkleiden und Posieren schafft Vertrautheit. Trotz dieser Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ziel einer einheitlichen Erscheinung, posiert doch jeder für sich und bringt seinen persönlichen Charakter mit in die Fotografie ein. So werden Unterschiede augenfällig, die unsere Einheit unterwandern.

Diesen Kontrast zwischen Nähe und Distanz, zwischen dem Festhalten an unserer Individualität und dem Wunsch nach einer Symbiose mit jemand wie uns möchte ich mit meinen Porträts erforschen.

Verschwisterung ist ein Langzeitprojekt. Aktuell suche ich nach neuen Modellen.

Weiß

Wahlverwandtschaft

Die Gedanken eines meiner Modelle möchte ich meiner Arbeit voranstellen:

„Ich sehe eine Ähnlichkeit.
Ich erkenne mich in der mir fremden Frau ein bisschen wieder – und muss schmunzeln! In meinem Kopf begebe ich mich auf eine Reise: in einer fremden Stadt zu sein und in den Passanten ab und an eigne Freunde wiederzuerkennen. Es ist genau diese Reise, die mir an dem Projekt gefällt.
Quer durch starre Konstrukte von Ethnizität, Geschlecht, Klasse, Sexualität, Familie oder Herkunft.
Die Sprengkraft liegt für mich in der emanzipativen Sichtweise – in der Art und Weise wie konforme Familien-Normen, -Konstitutionen und Selbstbilder visuell dekonstruiert werden.
Das Projekt spielt mit der Identitätsbildung eines wir zweier sich fremder Personen und öffnet damit einen Raum für mögliche Beziehungen (…)“

Oft passiert es, dass man bei Begegnungen mit neuen Menschen vertraute Züge zu sehen glaubt und an Freunde oder Bekanntschaften erinnert wird. Unbekannte erscheinen für einen kurzen Moment vertraut: eine Art Déjà-vu.

Dieses flüchtige Phänomen wollte ich fixieren. Mit der Fotografie zusammenfügen, was real getrennt voneinander existiert. Indem ich die Personen, die mich aneinander erinnerten zunächst einzeln porträtiere und die Bilder im Anschluss zu Paaren kombiniere, schaffe ich ein Netz aus feinen Querverbindungen zwischen den Menschen, die mir begegnen. Die meisten der Doppelgänger kennen sich nicht, so dass ich als Fotografin das einzige Bindeglied bin.

Schon seit Langem gilt mein fotografisches Interesse diesen Verbindungen. Was haben beispielsweise Freunde oder Geschwister gemeinsam und wie äußern sich diese Gemeinsamkeiten visuell? Und wie kann ich als Fotografin Beziehungen darstellen, oder sogar fiktive Verwandtschaftsverhälnisse konstruieren? Bereits in Verschwisterung steht diese Fragestellung im Zentrum meiner Arbeit. Wahlverwandtschaft ist eine weiter mögliche Antwort.

Der Sommer war so groß

Vita

Geboren 1981 in Augsburg, lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg

Studium

  • 02/2015 Master of Arts, Fotografie, Thema: „Wahlverwandtschaft“
  • 2011 – 2015 Masterstudium Fotografie bei Prof. Ute Mahler, Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, Hamburg
  • 03/2010 Bachelor of Arts, Schwerpunkt Fotografie, Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, München

Galerie

Ausgewählte Serien können bei der Galerie Hengevoss-Dürkop in limitierter Auflage erworben werden.
http://hengevossduerkop.de/galerie/?p=1171

Ausstellungen

  • 2015 ImageSingulières, Projections, Sète, France
    Photo Phnom Penh, Kambodscha
  • 2013 Bremer Kunstfrühling, Bremen
  • 2012 PREVIEW, Berlin
    Carte Blanche, Galerie Hengevoss-Dürkop, Hamburg
    Shifted Realities, Frappant, Hamburg
  • 2011 Familiy Value, Michael Mazzeo Gallery, New York
  • 2010 Verschwisterung, Westendstudios, München
  • 2009 Der unbewusste Augenblick, Deutsches Museum, München
    Heimat auf Zeit, DG Galerie, München
    Belichtung und Wahrheit, Freelens Treffen, Foyer H.A.W. München

Online-Publikationen

Impressum

Haftung für Inhalte

Als Diensteanbieter sind wir gemäß § 7 Abs.1 TMG für eigene Inhalte auf diesen Seiten nach den allgemeinen Gesetzen verantwortlich. Nach §§ 8 bis 10 TMG sind wir als Diensteanbieter jedoch nicht verpflichtet, übermittelte oder gespeicherte fremde Informationen zu überwachen oder nach Umständen zu forschen, die auf eine rechtswidrige Tätigkeit hinweisen. Verpflichtungen zur Entfernung oder Sperrung der Nutzung von Informationen nach den allgemeinen Gesetzen bleiben hiervon unberührt. Eine diesbezügliche Haftung ist jedoch erst ab dem Zeitpunkt der Kenntnis einer konkreten Rechtsverletzung möglich. Bei Bekanntwerden von entsprechenden Rechtsverletzungen werden wir diese Inhalte umgehend entfernen.

Haftung für Links

Unser Angebot enthält Links zu externen Webseiten Dritter, auf deren Inhalte wir keinen Einfluss haben. Deshalb können wir für diese fremden Inhalte auch keine Gewähr übernehmen. Für die Inhalte der verlinkten Seiten ist stets die/der jeweilige Anbieter/in oder Betreiber/in der Seiten verantwortlich. Die verlinkten Seiten wurden zum Zeitpunkt der Verlinkung auf mögliche Rechtsverstöße überprüft. Rechtswidrige Inhalte waren zum Zeitpunkt der Verlinkung nicht erkennbar. Eine permanente inhaltliche Kontrolle der verlinkten Seiten ist jedoch ohne konkrete Anhaltspunkte einer Rechtsverletzung nicht zumutbar. Bei Bekanntwerden von Rechtsverletzungen werden wir derartige Links umgehend entfernen.

Urheberrecht

Die durch die Seitenbetreiber erstellten Inhalte und Werke auf diesen Seiten unterliegen dem deutschen Urheberrecht. Die Vervielfältigung, Bearbeitung, Verbreitung und jede Art der Verwertung außerhalb der Grenzen des Urheberrechtes bedürfen der schriftlichen Zustimmung der jeweiligen Autorin/des jeweiligen Autors bzw. der Erstellerin/des Erstellers. Downloads und Kopien dieser Seite sind nur für den privaten, nicht kommerziellen Gebrauch gestattet. Soweit die Inhalte auf dieser Seite nicht vom Betreiber erstellt wurden, werden die Urheberrechte Dritter beachtet. Insbesondere werden Inhalte Dritter als solche gekennzeichnet. Sollten Sie trotzdem auf eine Urheberrechtsverletzung aufmerksam werden, bitten wir um einen entsprechenden Hinweis. Bei Bekanntwerden von Rechtsverletzungen werden wir derartige Inhalte umgehend entfernen.

Datenschutz

Die Betreiber dieser Seiten nehmen den Schutz Ihrer persönlichen Daten sehr ernst. Wir behandeln Ihre personenbezogenen Daten vertraulich und entsprechend der gesetzlichen Datenschutzvorschriften sowie dieser Datenschutzerklärung. Die Nutzung unserer Webseite ist in der Regel ohne Angabe personenbezogener Daten möglich. Soweit auf unseren Seiten personenbezogene Daten (beispielsweise Name, Anschrift oder E-Mail-Adressen) erhoben werden, erfolgt dies, soweit möglich, stets auf freiwilliger Basis. Diese Daten werden ohne Ihre ausdrückliche Zustimmung nicht an Dritte weitergegeben. Wir weisen darauf hin, dass die Datenübertragung im Internet (z.B. bei der Kommunikation per E-Mail) Sicherheitslücken aufweisen kann. Ein lückenloser Schutz der Daten vor dem Zugriff durch Dritte ist nicht möglich.

Angaben gemäß § 5 TMG

Katharina Lepik
Agathenstr. 7
20357 Hamburg
+491721073859
Zur Darstellung dieser E-Mail-Adresse wird JavaScript benötigt.

Alle Inhalte © 2017 Katharina Lepik